RESTAURANT POETRY

I try to think of what to say
The words crumble in my mouth
They float up to the rafters
Eventually they’ll fall south

They’re waiting for the melody
They taste of sweet vermouth
The liquor always helps me
It says to tell the truth

Summertime is far away
But in here the light stands still
The present is forever
We don’t have to pay the bill

The candles burn so slowly
They sparkle in a dance
Like shattered stars they twirl
They got me in a trance

Let’s keep up this masquerade
With champagne and gold brocade
With rosé and coq au vin
Do you hear the serenade

The ceilings whisper secrets
You look at me cozily
I’ll try not to forget
It’s just some restaurant poetry

@rhapsodiesinlimbo

Leave a Reply

